Tennessee GOP Splits Nashville into Three Congressional Districts

Tennessee GOP Splits Nashville into Three Congressional Districts

The Republican-controlled Tennessee House of Representatives released a proposed map of the state’s nine congressional districts on Wednesday that divides the Democrat majority city of Nashville into three congressional districts.

The 5th Congressional District, which has been represented by Rep. Jim Cooper (D-TN-5) since 2003, currently is composed of the city of Nashville (the largest part of Davidson County), the rest of Davidson County, all of Dickson County, and parts of Cheatham County. A little more than 90 percent of the current population of the district (715,000 out of 778,000) resides in Davidson County.

The proposed map introduced by Republicans at Wednesday’s hearing of the Tennessee House Select Committee on Redistricting splits Davidson County into three congressional districts. Only a third of Davidson

Continue reading

You Might Like


Join the conversation!

Please share your thoughts about this article below. We value your opinions, and would love to see you add to the discussion!

Thanks for sharing!
Send this to a friend