Matthew Hatcher / Getty ImagesMichigan Gov. Gretchen Whitmer is pictured in an April 6 file photo receiving a dose of the Pfizer COVID-19 vaccine at Ford Field in Detroit. Whitmer has issued an order effective Monday requiring masks for children as young as 2 engaged in public activities. (Matthew Hatcher / Getty Images)
Michigan still has one of the strictest mask mandates in the country — which hasn’t helped it curb its COVID spread in recent weeks.
Any noncompliance “is a misdemeanor punishable by imprisonment for not more than 6 months, or a fine of not more than $200.00, or both,” according to Gov. Gretchen Whitmer’s latest “Gatherings and Face Mask Order” that takes effect Monday.
Now, parents could be held criminally responsible for any masking noncompliance on the part of their young children as well.
The Mackinac Center for Public Policy’s “Michigan Capitol Confidential” column reported Friday that Whitmer’s revised orders