Businesses asking for proof of vaccination or government agencies mandating vaccination for employees will be facing $5,000 fines per violation, Florida Governor Ron DeSantis (R) reiterated this week.
DeSantis in May signed a bill allowing “the state to issue fines beginning Sept. 16 if people are asked to show proof they have received a COVID-19 vaccine before being allowed in businesses, schools, or government buildings,” WFTV 9 reported.
According to the legislation, businesses, government agencies, and schools in the state of Florida will be fined $5,000 “per individual and separate violation.”
“Those who violate the rule will be issued a notice of the infraction and have a chance to appeal the fine,” WFTV 9 noted. “If the appeal fails, the fine must be paid within 30 days.”
“If a government agency in the state of Florida forces a vaccine as a condition of employment, that violates Florida law and you will face a $5,000 fine for every single violation,” the Republican governor recently