8 Nations Sign NASA Agreement Outlining Principles Of Space Exploration

8 Nations Sign NASA Agreement Outlining Principles Of Space Exploration

Eight nations signed a NASA agreement, called the Artemis Accords, which is designed to outline principles that will govern lunar and space exploration missions in the future, according to a NASA press release.

The agreement is named after NASA’s Artemis program, according to Reuters, and was established earlier this year to explicate legal provisions, governing rules for internationally cooperative space missions, and the principles underpinning these missions, i.e., for peaceful purposes with full transparency and with science and safety as a top priority, according to the NASA press release.

The following countries signed the #Artemis Accords, establishing a practical set of principles to guide space exploration cooperation:

???????? Australia
???????? Canada
???????? Japan
???????? USA
???????? Luxembourg
???????? Italy
???????? United Kingdom
???????? United Arab Emirates

Trending: 'Seinfeld' Cast Members Pushing Fundraising Effort to Turn Texas Blue: 'Texas Has Never Been a Red State'

More: https://t.co/KUb3FDQhAi pic.twitter.com/z2yh6f2ma5

— NASA (@NASA) October 13, 2020

“Fundamentally, the Artemis Accords will help to avoid conflict in space and on Earth by strengthening mutual understanding and reducing misperceptions. Transparency, public registration, deconflicting operations – these are the principles that will preserve peace,” said Mike Gold, NASA acting associate administrator for international and interagency relations. “The Artemis journey is to the Moon, but the destination of the Accords is a peaceful and prosperous future.”


Continue reading

You Might Like

Do NOT follow this link or you will be banned from the site!