49ers Coach Kyle Shanahan Explains His Overtime Coin Toss Decision as He Receives Mountain of Criticism

49ers Coach Kyle Shanahan Explains His Overtime Coin Toss Decision as He Receives Mountain of Criticism


San Francisco 49ers head coach Kyle Shanahan has an explanation for one of the most questionable decisions of his team’s 25-22 overtime loss to the Kansas City Chiefs in Super Bowl LVIII on Sunday.

When the game entered overtime, the coach opted to receive the ball first after the 49ers won the coin toss that allowed them the choice.

The postseason overtime rule changed in 2022.

Trending: Coast Guard Refuses to Enforce New California Regulation

Previously, the second team to get the ball wouldn’t be given a possession if the first team scored a touchdown.

Under the new rule, it would get the ball no matter what. That gives the team that gets the ball second a strategic advantage — one that the 49ers did not take.

Trending:

Kamala Harris ‘Ready’ to Take

Continue reading


 

Join the conversation!

Please share your thoughts about this article below. We value your opinions, and would love to see you add to the discussion!